Digital Key

coffeecigars

Aug 4, 2024
Media
Are the Overtrails equipped with Digital Key? Is it something you can add on ?

Anyone have experience with using there phone as a key fob ?

Aa

Are the Overtrails equipped with Digital Key? Is it something you can add on ?

Anyone have experience with using there phone as a key fob ?

Aa
Yes, my OT+ has it. It was installed as a “port installed option.” I have a connected, no issues yet, but I am still learning to trust it.

My Overtrail also has it and it works very well. It does much more than merely lock/unlock doors and start the motor. If you forget to lock your vehicle, it will page (text) you to let you know it was left unsecured.

You can additionally see how much fuel and range is left in the truck, whether there are any faults, last place parked, among other things.

Very cool stuff.

Digital key is different than using the app to connect and check status or remote start it. The digital key let's you use you phone as a key fob where you can get in and drive it with only your phone and no other key fob. With the app if you start it, you cannot drive it unless you hold the brake and press the start button with a key fob nearby. I use the app, like Nico mentioned, but my OT does not have the digital key option. If you have the digital key it will show on your window sticker in the far right section. I have not talked to the dealer yet about whether that can be added after, seems like it might just be a software install or feature enable process, but I'm not sure.